Skip to content

Erin Go Bake: Making Irish Soda Bread for the First Time

March 17, 2012

By Creator:Simon Kozhin

There are three kinds of people in the world. Those who are Irish, those who wish they were Irish, and those who are Irish by marriage.

As the wife of a Chirish I am now officially Irish (by marriage) and I take my new heritage-in-law seriously. I’ve got my green outfit picked out and ready, the Celtic station is playing on Pandora, the Irish Wedding Blessing China on display, AND, most importantly, the traditional Irish recipes are on hand.

And so, to celebrate St. Patrick’s Day this year, in honor of my Irish Renaissance, I baked Irish Soda Bread for the first time, using my husband’s grandmother’s recipe, passed down through the generations.

Not only did I bake this St. Paddy’s Day staple, but also, with the help of my own beloved Wild Irish Rose, we captured it all on video, so you could join me on my adventures of being Irish by Marriage.

I’m Irish Now. Let’s Bake!

In this little film, Baking With BirdieBee, follow me as I make Irish Soda Bread for the first time. My mother-in-law gave this recipe to me at my Bridal Shower, and she was given this recipe by her mother-in-law, who was born in the U.S., lived in Ireland, returned to the U.S. and married an Irish immigrant.

I definitely learned a few things along the way that I will do differently the next time.

First, the bread wasn’t so difficult to make. The way my husband talked about it in years past, I thought it took 5 hours to make with several attempts hurled into the garbage. The ingredients were simple (once I found Cream of Tartar) and were easy to throw together. And, I whipped the bread together astonishingly quick. The bread did not have to sit for hours to rise; yeast not necessary (YNN, common acronym). The Baking Soda plays the key role in the recipe (hence the name “Soda” bread, acting as the raising agent (almost makes me want to be a scientist.)) The prep time is maybe 10 minutes (if you go slow) and the bake time is about 60 minutes.

The last two things that I would do differently, use one bread pan, and bake longer. I had poured the dough into two large bread pans, and so the bread came out SUPER flat, but still edible (and delicious). And, I should have baked the bread for maybe 10 minutes longer, as it was a little too gooey on the inside. (I think that this must be the hard part, making sure you bake the bread enough/not too long).

It would have been nice for the bread to turn out perfect my first time, but as we Irish say, “You’ve got to do your own growing, no matter how tall your father was.”

Now, without further ado, I present “Baking with BirdieBee.

Sláinte!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2012 10:39 am

    Thanks for your tips…it’s always nice to know of what works and what you would change.

Trackbacks

  1. Surprise! It’s May! « fly away time.

Leave a Reply

