Skip to content

My First Casimir Pulaski Day

March 5, 2012

My husband and I took off of work today, and little did I know, it was Casimir Pulaski Day!  (I grew up in Wisconsin and Ohio so I had never heard of Casimir Pulaski Day until I went away to college. My freshman year roommate is a Chicago-Native and she was a big fan of Casimir Pulaski Day–it seemed made-up to me, but I took her word for it.)

As it turned out, Casimir Pulaksi Day is a legit holiday observed in Illinois, held on the first Monday of March in memory of Casimir Pulaski, a Revolutionary War cavalry officer from Poland. And, it’s a day to pay tribute to Chicago’s Polish Community.

I am not very Polish (an eighth perhaps?), but I love a good Holiday and I love being a Chicagoan–so I am very pleased to announce that I was able to celebrate my first Casimir Pulaski Day.

We started the holiday off with a bang last night by going to my first Second City show: “Sky’s the Limit (Weather Permitting).” Definitely funny, definitely a “must” on your Chicago Bucket List. I think my favorite part about a Second City show, is the cabaret seating (although our table was way off to the side, so we could only see the actors in profile view), the beers (definitely have a drink or two), and the talent. While most of this show is scripted, the improv elements were so much fun. It’s exciting to see these people act on their toes, quick at their wits. And who knows, one of them may end up on SNL or in Bridesmaids II. Exciting! My favorite actor was Derek Shipman–keep your eyes peeled for this guy.

After the show, my husband and I went across the street to Corcoran’s Grill and he had his first green beer of the season. I guess it’s never too early for Green Beer.

Today I woke up at 9:00 and banged through Week 4 of Jillian Michaels’ Ripped. (I’m already ripped, I am just “maintaining” at this point….JK)

And then we went to the DMV!!! WHOO-HOO! How exciting! But seriously, we were lucky it was open (Casimir Pulaski!). I finally got my new driver’s license with my married name, which I finally changed earlier this month (how long have I been married now, 15 months?) Plus, now I have a drivers’ license again. This trip to the DMV was relatively painless, which is great because I have a legit fear of public offices workers, which I will expound upon another day.

After that we chowed down on some leftover chili, really spiced up our stomachs, and then made some trips to the grocery store and came home to do three loads of laundry.

(Are you still reading? Wow, I like you.)

While I folded the laundry, I watched my favorite guilty pleasure Pan Am. This is a terrible show, but I really like it. The outfits are pretty and the characters are all likable. Who cares if the story line is weak and that they aired the episodes out of order? I Love it.

And that, Ladies and Gentlemen, is how I spent my first official Casimir Pulaski Day. Needless to say, I am set for the week, and I needed today to recover from the mania of Friday night’s Justin Bierber puzzle.

Cheers to a productive and somewhat memorable Casimir Pulaski Day!

Never Too Old for Puzzles.

 

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

