Skip to content

“If the Shoe Fits, Wear it Baby”

February 26, 2012

One Friday night last November, I was hell-bent on going on a bender, but then I walked into a bar and came face to face with magic personified. I was at the Beat Kitchen in Chicago and the band on the stage was playing music that made my soul come alive.

The band was Daniel Ellsworth & The Great Lakes, and the moment was cosmic.

The encounter was completely random–Of all the gin joints, in all the towns, in all the world, I walked into theirs. It was serendipitous. My spirits were immediately lifted and I felt inspired for the first time in a long time.

Not only is their music great, they put on an excellent show. Each person in the band just radiates pure happiness and it’s easy to see how much they love what they’re doing. And their mood is catching. Everyone in the bar is smiling. I think this is a rare find.

And so, I have to share them with you, in case you haven’t had the glory of their encounter yet.

Their album, “Civilized Man” was featured on Amazon’s Top 100 Albums of 2011 and the song I am posting below, “Shoe Fits” was #7 on Amazon’s Best Songs of 2011. If you don’t hear them here, you will at some point soon.

Without further ado, I give you words to abide by, music to live to: Daniel Ellsworth & The Great Lake’s “Shoe Fits” from “Civilized Man.” Turn up the volume, listen and be happy–(and then go buy the album.)

Leave a Reply

