Skip to content

Rock-a-bye Wifey

January 11, 2012

My husband and I got into it last night. Because I did it again. Get ready for this folks…I fell asleep before 9pm. HEAVEN FORBID!

My husband was frustrated because while we were snuggled up on the couch watching TV, I fell asleep, which OK yes. This is my habit. I admit.

When we got into bed at midnight (time for my second night’s rest) he began a “conversation” about how I get too much sleep. “I don’t know anyone else who falls asleep so early.” He was adamant.

So of course, I, certainly awake now, became quickly defensive. How can I help it if my eyelids get so heavy that they simple must close? Is it really so bad that I am so comfortable and content that I can instantly fall asleep at a moment’s pause?

After going in circles about how “you sleep too much” and “I’m so tired,” the truth finally came out…

When we got married and started living together a year ago, we slowly carved out a routine that we are locked into today. We both work full-time, have a moderate commute of, on average, 40 minutes, both arriving home around 6:15. I leave an hour earlier in the morning. We work out (I Jillian Michaels the hell out of the living room), shower, cook really good dinners, and then we usually eat between 8:30-9:15pm. At that point we’re full and satisfied and usually end up watching TV until I fall asleep. At that point my husband will continue watching television until we go to bed. (I also want to add here that we are both involved in other weekly activities: midnight tennis for my husband–because he is able to stay up past 9:30pm–and I am in a church choir, and up until two months ago, I was in a band. We’re not lazy people, people.)

Anyway, the area of frustration for my husband was not that I fall a sleep abnormally early (which I still maintain is not true), but rather, that we are not making more of our time. At first this accusation seemed like a mean joke, because I feel like I do a lot with my time, but I realized (now) that I could certainly use my time more wisely, by:

1. Watching Less Television. Can you hear my heart breaking? My love for television is right up there with my husband, Jason Mraz, pop and chips’n dip. But (alack the day) it’s true. An hour of TV a day should suffice (am I blaspheming?)

2. Eating less for dinner. Is it possible for a heart to break more than once? But it’s true, again, eating less will make me feel more motivated and less like I need to fall a sleep immediately after that last tasty morsel. And probably more healthy too….

I have seriously been saying (for pretty much a year now) that I was going to start blogging again and actually make time for practicing (music). I have to stop making excuses and do more with my skills, even if it is just for one hour out of the evening. After all, I am afraid that if we continue in this manner, suddenly our child rearing days will be upon us and we’ll be running around after our kids with no free time to make the most of, because, then I really will be tired.

So, here I am writing this blog post on my iPhone, sulking in bed, not watching my beloved television, because although I am very bull-headed, I know my husband is right.

Oh and look at that, he just brought me the laptop…what a good husband!

Now I am going to feel really, really bad when I fall asleep in the next 15 minutes.

Here’s to my new goal of watching less television, and doing more with my creative arts!

Good night!….zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

One Comment leave one →
  1. Chiskers permalink
    January 12, 2012 7:45 pm

    A. “I don’t know anyone else who falls asleep so early?” Clearly Patrick has forgotten he knows me.
    B. When I started reading the things that are right up there with television for you I thought for sure I was going to be one of them and now I AM CRYING….

    But in all seriousness this post really hits home. Not only do I spend most of my time after work sleeping, but I spend it all in the bedroom! It’s time to bust out: Out of a rut, out of the bedroom, and out of an unproductive sleep coma!

Leave a Reply

