Skip to content

Oh, Hello Old Friend.

November 5, 2010

An Open Letter to my blog readers (if I have any left…):

Dear Friend,

It’s nice to see you again. I’m sorry I’ve been away, though maybe you did not notice. I’ve been lost in the land of wedding planning and with twenty-two days (!!!!) to go, my head is still filled with tedious things like reception timelines and seating arrangements and floral centerpieces. Oh yes, and I still need to ask my brother-in-law if he’ll be an usher…and if he can bring the three weiner dogs and dress them in tuxedos…the church will approve right(?), even though they won’t let me walk down the aisle to the Home Alone Theme song?….oh and yes, can you believe we STILL have not yet met with the priest? Twenty-two days, twenty-two days.  

Back on point, forgive me for my posting hiatus. There are after all, too many wedding planning blogs (you should thank me). I hope you’ll give me another chance as a blogger. Once the wedding is over, I will be fully loaded (down) with the post-wedding blues and ready to take my mind off of it and back onto other (and all) things magical!

So yes, I love you, I have not forgotten about you. And of course, I miss you too. Don’t forget to feed the cat and unplug the toaster before you leave.

Sincerely,

Long-Lost BirdieBee.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Bip Herbst permalink
    November 8, 2010 4:45 pm

    Yes I can, in fact, believe that you haven’t met with the priest yet. The same thing happened to us. And I just really don’t get it. I can imagine that priests have a million billion responsibilities, but, to me, young people who actually want to get married in the Catholic Church should be a top focus. Last year Catholic diocese spent what I am estimating as $X,XXX,XXX+ to air primetime commercials advertising “Catholics Come Home,” a program designed to bring Catholics back to mass. But instead, wouldn’t it make sense to get to know and care for and honor the young adults in the parish that are actually making a choice to be there on their own?

    Sure makes getting married on a cruise seem attractive……..

Leave a Reply

