Skip to content

Happy Birthday (to me)!

May 26, 2010

Photo By Joey Gannon

Today, I am officially 25! 

And aside from the whole pigeon-feather-snorting-fiasco of 2010 that occurred on the eve of my birthday, I believe this 25th year of my life will be a great one. For one thing, Sex and the City 2 opens in theaters tonight. The Fruit Bats will be playing in Chicago, August 27. I am going to learn how to cook. And, most importantly, in November, I will be marrying my truest of trues, my best friend (and we are going to be changing our last names to “The Holidays”–but he doesn’t know this yet…shhh). 

Now, in honor of turning 25, the perfect year for my quarter life crisis (assuming I live to be a centenarian), I guess I must ruminate on the things I’d like to accomplish in the years ahead: 

  • Improve my novice tennis skills (aka be able to actually hit the ball).
  • Write a novel and get it published.
  • Actually be able to “taste” wine, so I don’t have to pretend to taste the “foresty-mushroom-oak-grilled-rabbit” flavor at wine tastings.
  • Have an organized closet.
  • Compose a Broadway musical.
  • Learn to salsa dance.
  • Know Music history by heart.
  • Be a magical wife (and mother–at some point).
  • Own a pie shop that moonlights as a piano bar.
  • Star in a children’s musical theatre company.
  • Return to Taiwan and visit Europe.
  • Overcome my fear of spiders and centipedes.
  • Become a virtuoso at The Banjo.
  • Earn a certification to be an aerobic instructor.
  • And Live everyday to the fullest!

 That being said, I LOVE birthdays! It is a wonderful day to celebrate life! 

And to end: 

“The secret to staying young,” said the great, great Lucille Ball, “is to live honestly, eat slowly, and lie about your age.” 

Thank you and Happy Birthday to all! 

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 10:42 am

    I saw your lovely blog today and really connect. I’m also 25, also engaged with a co-worker planning my second wedding, also like the Fruit Bats, and I’m also front desk girl. I live in Portland, Oregon, and I wish you a late, but happy birthday, and I think November is a great time to get married.

    Check out my blog if you’d like. I don’t seem to write as well as you but we are talking about a lot of the same things right now. Also, check out the This Much link on my blog. It’s what I’ve created while being bored as a front desk girl.

Leave a Reply

